The state of Florida has many outdoor recreational activities available for residents and tourists alike to enjoy. One favorite activity for may is cruising along the beaches and bays on a motorcycle.
Below are some frequently asked questions of those considering pursuing the sport.
Must I first take a course to get my motorcycle endorsement? The law states that all riders have motorcycle endorsements on their licenses if operating a cycle with two or three wheels and with an engine of over 50 cc.
How do I get a motorcycle endorsement? You have to first obtain a Class E operator’s license. Those younger than 21 have to prove they completed a safety course for motorcycles.
What are the requirements for a Basic Rider Course? Riders have to have a driver’s license or Learner’s permit, a working knowledge of Florida traffic laws, road signage, and general road rules.
The Motorcycle Safety Foundation offers an experienced Rider Course Suite. Can I take that? Yes, those wishing to sign up for a 6-hour ERC Suite have to be 21 or older, have both riding gear and a helmet and use their own motorcycle or another person’s with their written permission.
What about courses completed in other states? Does Florida accept the motorcycle endorsements? Yes, if the completion certificate, card or curriculum was approved or by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation, Florida will accept it.
Do I have to wear a helmet to ride my motorcycle in Florida? Those 20 and younger must wear helmets. Riders 21 and over don’t have to wear helmets if they have a minimum of $10,000 coverage for medical benefits on their insurance policy for any injuries they suffer in a motorcycle collision.
Despite the state doing its best to keep riders safe, accidents inevitably occur. If you are injured in a motorcycle wreck, you need to know what options are available to you. A Florida personal injury attorney is one source of information after an accident.
Source: FLBikers.com, “Frequently Asked Questions,” accessed Sep. 01, 2015