After you’ve been in an accident in Florida, you have a few things to think about. How will you be compensated for your pain and suffering? Who will pay for your medical bills? If you’ve missed work, how will you be paid for the time you missed? How will it be determined who was at fault for the accident, so you can be compensated?
Many times, you’ll have your own car insurance that will kick in and take care of you following an accident, but it’s also important to make sure you know who’s at fault. If the other driver is responsible, then he or she has a responsibility to compensate you for damage to your vehicle, to cover medical bills and to pay for other losses.
Generally speaking, all accidents are reported. If your accident involved an injury, the emergency medical team and the police should have been called. If you didn’t report the accident at the time, you may still be able to file a report and seek compensation after having a medical exam if it hasn’t been very long since the accident. However, by law, any accident resulting in over $500 of damage or involving an injury, death, hit-and-run or intoxicated driver needs to be reported immediately.
Normally, if an officer comes to the scene, your job is done. All you need to do is to collect information about the other driver and then make a claim. If the officer didn’t make a report or never came to the scene, then it’s important that you file that report within 10 days of your accident to protect yourself.
Source: DMV.org, “Accident Guide in Florida,” accessed June 11, 2015